Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 9/2/2004 2:11:38 PM EDT
I recently shot the 2004 International Tactical Rifleman Championship (report here with pics).  This is primarily a military and LEO match, but there is a contingent of civilian shooters who compete and place well (in fact, the #1 and #3 places were won by non-LEO civilians this year).  47 teams signed up, 38 teams finished.  My team came in 13th.

My background is 3Gun, where I think the TA11 ACOG is the ideal optic.  When the targets are no more difficult than 10" plates at 320 yards, it's king for speed from 25-300 yards.  In 3Gun, there is no penalty for missed shots besides the time you waste, so it's no big deal if you have to send a second or third round downrange once in a while.

At the ITRC, targets went out further, and they were smaller.  Wind was more of a factor in this match than typical 3Gun matches.  Misses were highly penalized, so your first round had to count.  (Scoring was -20 for a miss, but only +10 for a hit, and only two hits per target were counted.)

This is about as "precision" as you get with field-worthy carbines: the ability to arrive at a shooting location, acquire and range the targets, and engage them with two shots each as quickly as possible.  Each round has to count.  Targets difficulty is equivalent to head-shots to about 400 yards.

For the precision part, the following is suggested:

The primary reticle aim point should only minimally obscure the target.  A big problem with the TA11 is that the 200-400 meter aiming points (on the donut and the first horizontal cross-hair) obscure most of a 2.5MOA target (e.g. a 10" plate at 400 yards).