Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/20/2023 6:00:38 AM EDT
I recently changed the original square front sight post on my 20" rifle to a tapered NM sight post. Since the front sight can now only be adjusted in full-turn increments (5 moa/revolution), as opposed to 1.25" per notch, would there be any advantage to zeroing again at 200 yds, or any disadvantages to zeroing at 100 yds, and then just counting clicks up to 2, 3 and 600 yards? There is only about a .010" difference in total sight height between the original sight post and the NM sight post, the NM post being the higher of the two, so the elevation should be within a click or two of the original 200 yd zero. I hope what I'm trying to convey is clearer than mud.
Thanks for your input. I've had 40+years of trigger time behind the M1 rifle, but only about 1.5 years with the AR and I'm still learning its quirks and nuances.
Link Posted: 2/20/2023 9:27:19 AM EDT
[#1]
Really good thread...........

https://www.ar15.com/forums/ar-15/AR-15-Zeros-and-Trajectories/18-512335/
Link Posted: 2/20/2023 9:39:18 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 2/20/2023 2:01:43 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By HighpowerRifleBrony:
RIBZ.
View Quote

Since the Pros from Dover are in the house, what is the best way to mod the rear sight on a carbine to match the narrow front sight?  E.g., a narrow aperture peep to match a .050” front post?  Using the existing carry-handle 6/3 rear?  Is that a reasonable thing - given a 200/300 yard precision goal, not extreme range.  Carbine.
Link Posted: 2/20/2023 2:15:32 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks for the info. I should've mentioned that I shoot xtc matches, not just ringing steel at distance, hence the change to the NM sights.
Thanks again.
Link Posted: 2/20/2023 3:01:58 PM EDT
[#5]
Originally Posted By Jack67: