Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/12/2024 8:32:45 PM EDT
What happened here?
Winchester 124gr. in a Glock 19.
The chip in the rim and scratches on the projectile were from a pair of pliers. Had to use a dowel to punch it out of the chamber. Attachment Attached File
Attachment Attached File
Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 5/12/2024 8:35:34 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 5/12/2024 9:16:46 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm no expert, but it looks like some serious over pressure to me! What caused it is the question. Overcharge of powder or a too tight crimp? Maybe excess case length?
Link Posted: 5/12/2024 9:41:17 PM EDT
[#3]
Winchester happened.

Link Posted: 5/12/2024 10:05:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By BlitzPig:
Winchester happened.

View Quote

Pretty much
Link Posted: 5/12/2024 10:14:58 PM EDT
[#5]
Originally Posted By OmegamanX:
I'm no expert, but it looks like some serious over pressure to me! What caused it is the question. Overcharge of powder or a too tight crimp? Maybe excess case length?
View Quote

Case length is what I suspect. There's a ring around the neck in the 3rd photo. Possible the case pushed into the bore squeezing the neck too tight?
Link Posted: 5/12/2024 11:12:03 PM EDT
[#6]
Based on appearance I bet there is a non drilled or incompletely drilled flash hole for the primer.
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 1:40:52 PM EDT
[#7]
Originally Posted By captain127:
Based on appearance I bet there is a non drilled or incompletely drilled flash hole for the primer.
View Quote

Hadn't considered this. This would explain the popped primer and ring at the neck.
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 2:56:39 PM EDT
[Last Edit: D_Man] [#8]
Originally Posted By captain127:
View Quote