Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/11/2024 1:00:19 AM EDT
Has anyone grown morels indoors? I have a couple friends who absolutely love morels and every year go into the woods for hours searching for them.

One has been a friend for over 30 years and her husband loves them as much as she does.

I want to try a grow kit with a morel spore injection syringe and hand them a pile of them in the off season just to see the looks on their faces. How resistant to "growth in captivity" are they and is it even worth trying?

Have the Arfcom mycologists any wisdom to share?
Link Posted: 5/11/2024 3:32:27 AM EDT
[#1]
Subbed for the replies on this one.
Link Posted: 5/11/2024 10:22:52 AM EDT
[Last Edit: SigOwner_P229] [#2]
Disclaimer: I have no personal experience and have not looked into it in-depth.

From my understanding, morels can be grown but they are one of the harder to grow mushroom species. You're going to have to commit to it and likely procure some special equipment.

OTOH, some species like Shitake you just inoculate a log and they won't stop growing...
Link Posted: 5/11/2024 4:55:01 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By KYB762:
Subbed for the replies on this one.
View Quote

Ditto. Coming off a pretty good spring this year where I could gather several good-sized morels each morning for almost a week straight right from the scrub wood edge along my own backyard, and have an amazing morel omelet each morning for that week, I am definitely hooked!

Link Posted: 5/12/2024 8:51:49 AM EDT
[#4]
Go for a walk and look around. Gonna be much easier than trying to grow them. I have a friend that is a damn good Gardener that has tried multiple times with limited success. Mother Nature will hook ya up -

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 1:01:10 AM EDT
[#5]