Originally Posted By gregw45:
Key word in the item description: "Troy HK Style"
Pass.
The front sight is HK "style" as opposed to AR style. The use of the word HK "style" is used by Troy also to describe this style of front sight.
Here's a pic of my rear sight, not a fake, and I don't see any difference in the lettering.
Originally Posted By Tengo1:
I was watching these on ebay. Curious why they have not been bid on yet. After looking at several websites on how to identify fake troy sights I think they are fake based off the spacing of the wording. They look really stretched apart. I dont want to accuse the guy if there real. But if they are fakes I'm gonna report him to ebay for selling copyrighted fake shit. What say you all???
Troy sights in question on ebay
I own a set of those. Looks legit from the pics.
Originally Posted By OlCrow:
Originally Posted By gregw45:
Key word in the item description: "Troy HK Style"
Pass.
The front sight is HK "style" as opposed to AR style. The use of the word HK "style" is used by Troy also to describe this style of front sight.
Here's a pic of my rear sight, not a fake, and I don't see any difference in the lettering.
http://4-riders.com/pics/AR/LMT6016.jpg
See how much bigger the lettering is. The Look how close the letter is to the edge of the sight compared to yours
Front sight should take a standard A2 post. Notice the amount of flat space from the base of the front sight post to the detent.
Troy:
eBay dude: (detent also appears to be missing)
Airsoft Evolution clone for comparison:
Logo and lot # font are slightly different.
Troy:
eBay dude:
TROY sights have been through numerous revisions. If these are clones, they are amazing. The sellers feedback page is for mostly airsoft related products.
I would pass, you can see on the ebay one that the edges are more squared and not rounded like the ones in the pic in the previous post. My 2 cents
Good job of investigative reporting.
I think you solved it, it's a fake. But I hate to say it...a well done fake that would fool most without comparing them side by side.
Originally Posted By OlCrow:
Good job of investigative reporting.
I think you solved it, it's a fake. But I hate to say it...a well done fake that would fool most without comparing them side by side.
This is why i only buy from walk in stores and major online retailers like Larue.
Pictures on ebay are also worthless as most airsoft people on there use stock factory pictures or pictures of legit items. Then you end up getting the airsoft crap.
No question about it those are fake.