
| Originally Posted By SgtWhiting: BACKGROUND: I live here in California, USA. Last year I wrote an Article on a review I did of the Kel-Tec SU-16 Alpha and Bravo models of semi-automatic .223 rifles. The review was posted to a popular internet site dealing with equipment one might carry backpacking or in their person in their airplanes while traveling in remote areas. You can read the article here I just started receiving curious e-mails from a person who says they live in Canada and want to get one of these rifles. They keep hinting that I should have a firearms dealer send them one. Their spelling seems off, and keeping in mind all the Nigerian Treasury/Bank and Canadian Lottery scams and such, could this be one of them ? Here is a copy of their e-mails and my replies: * * * * * * * * * * First E-mail ----- Original Message ----- From: Annie Lévesque To: whitingtpd@bak.rr.com Sent: Wednesday, November 15, 2006 6:41 PM Subject: hello |
| Hello Ed, I live in canada Quebec and I would like to own a su16 what do you think of the su16CA model and who could sell me one down here in Quebec, cause I have been looking for several week's now and I cant find a dealer here in canada. Merci Steven Lavoie 450-833-XXXX (I blotted out the last 4 digits of his telephone number just in case) My response: Excellent question. I am unfamiliar with Canadian Firearms laws except to say I know they are more restrictive than here in California. I would find a legal firearms dealer and ask them if they are allowed for import and/or sale and if so, under what conditions. Maybe even an e-mail/phone call to your local RCMP office would do the trick. They should know. Good luck with your inquiry. Ed Whiting Sergeant Taft Police Department * * * * * * * * * * Second E-mail ----- Original Message ----- From: Annie Lévesque To: Ed Whiting Sent: Friday, November 17, 2006 8:18 AM Subject: Re: hello |
| Hello ED, Thank's for your reply, I was wondering if I was the only guy in this world for this su-16. I took my info. throw our control departement of firearms. As I tought the su-16 (all models from A to E. barel's 4 1/8 inch and up, folding stock no problem) is under restricted weapons not for hunting nor prohibited, so I can own one. |
| The only problem I could have is the 10 round mag. here in Canada they only accept 5 rounds (easy and legal to modify) but it should be done down in USA before entering Canada or send apart from the rifle and modified here by my gunsmith. |
| Here is some of the transporter that the RCMP gave me, many more of them are authorized to deliver my futur aquisition. |
| LANDSTAR RANGER, INC. Florida, US (Jacksonville) (800) 872-9430 US AIRWAYS US AIRWAYS GROUP, INC. (Filiale de US Airways Inc.) Virginia, US (Arlington) (703) 872-7000 TRANSPORT COTNOIR INC. Quebec (Laval) (514) 381-1821 SWIFT TRANSPORTATION CO., INC. Arizona, US (Phoenix) (602) 907-7291 Mesa Airlines, Inc. (Filiale de Air Midwest, Inc.) Arizona, US (Phoenix) (602) 685-4117 Delta Air Lines Inc. Georgia, US (Atlanta) (404) 715-1114 CON-WAY FREIGHT-CANADA INC. Michigan, US (Ann Arbor) (503) 450-5502 CADEX INC. Quebec (SAINT-JEAN-SUR-RICHELIEU) (450) 348-6794 AIR CANADA (Filiale de Air Canada Jazz Limited Partnership) Quebec (Montreal) (514) 205-7473 Ed do you know some dealer who could ship me a su-16 ? By the way, sory for my poor english writing, i'ts been quite a while. Thanks, Steven My response: No, I don't. I would think a reputable dealer in your area could order it and have it shipped to their business. Your almost there. Ed * * * * * * * * * * Today's e-mail: Allo, Ed All my searches (and I mean all) ended up the same way sory we dont or we can't. Today in Longueil is the anual gun show the only one we have in Quebec province, I'm going in a couple of minutes, hope someone there can help me. Meanwhile if you find someone around you who could sell me let me know. Thank's have a good day. Steven My response: The Kel-Tec SU series may be one of those types of firearms you cannot get in Canada. Have you called the RCMP yet and asked ? Just a thought. Ed Whiting * * * * * * * * * * A couple more things I noticed. He says his name is Steve Lavoie yet his e-mail comes from "Annie Levesque." Here is the e-mail properties: Return-path: <mask.lela@sympatico.ca> Return-path: <mask.lela@sympatico.ca> Received: from ms-mta-02.socal.rr.com (ms-mta-02-smtp.socal.rr.com [10.10.4.126]) by ms-mss-04.socal.rr.com (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 2.10 (built Dec 26 2005)) with ESMTP id <0J8X007GPJXVHS@ms-mss-04.socal.rr.com> for whitingtpd@bak.rr.com; Sat, 18 Nov 2006 06:22:43 -0800 (PST) Received: from orngca-mx-10.mgw.rr.com (orngca-mx-10.mgw.rr.com [66.75.160.144]) by ms-mta-02.socal.rr.com (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 2.10 (built Dec 26 2005)) with ESMTP id <0J8X0025TJXU06@ms-mta-02.socal.rr.com> for whitingtpd@bak.rr.com (ORCPT whitingtpd@bak.rr.com); Sat, 18 Nov 2006 06:22:43 -0800 (PST) Received: from bayc1-pasmtp02.bayc1.hotmail.com (HELO BAYC1-PASMTP02.CEZ.ICE) ([65.54.191.162]) by orngca-mx-10.mgw.rr.com with ESMTP; Sat, 18 Nov 2006 09:22:43 -0500 Received: from utillisateur ([216.209.124.93]) by BAYC1-PASMTP02.CEZ.ICE over TLS secured channel with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830); Sat, 18 Nov 2006 06:22:35 -0800 Date: Sat, 18 Nov 2006 09:22:29 -0500 From: =?iso-8859-1?Q?Annie_L=E9vesque?= <mask.lela@sympatico.ca> Subject: Re: hello X-Originating-IP: [216.209.124.93] To: Ed Whiting <whitingtpd@bak.rr.com> Reply-to: =?iso-8859-1?Q?Annie_L=E9vesque?= <mask.lela@sympatico.ca> Message-id: <BAYC1-PASMTP02E2594A1D19D35843A9898FEF0@CEZ.ICE> Message-id: <000c01c70b1c$fdba3fe0$5d7cd1d8@utillisateur> MIME-version: 1.0 X-MIMEOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2962 X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2869 Content-type: multipart/alternative; boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0009_01C70AF3.11C592C0" X-Priority: 3 X-MSMail-priority: Normal X-MID: 757783760 X-Originating-Email: [mask.lela@sympatico.ca] References: <BAYC1-PASMTP10EA400D26F6F46C8EFADD8FE90@CEZ.ICE> <000b01c7099e$eee200e0$5e01a8c0@DB5ZWR61> <BAYC1-PASMTP0310AD9B4358C86480E6578FE80@CEZ.ICE> <000001c70ad9$86764f70$5e01a8c0@DB5ZWR61> Original-recipient: rfc822;whitingtpd@bak.rr.com X-OriginalArrivalTime: 18 Nov 2006 14:22:38.0900 (UTC) FILETIME=[00385F40:01C70B1D] I'm not a computer genius or anything, but it looks like his e-mail is not his. ETA: Also when the listed address first shows up on my Presorium Frontgate program (This program monitors my incoming e-mail) it reads neither Annie levesque, nor anything readable. Some thing like *&^%&*&%^%$, kind of like they are trying to disguise it. What do you folks in Canada think ? Legit, or scam ? |