Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 10/17/2023 5:14:12 PM EDT
Hey guys. So this is my first time installing a trigger in a AK. I got a killer deal on a Elftmann trigger, I'm a huge fan of them for the AR world, so I couldn't pass it up. I've always heard that installing triggers in AK's can be tricky. I seem to have 2 issues so far.
1. One of my trigger pins is too big and wont go through either trigger or hammer, my other one will. Tried taking 800 grit sandpaper to the pin to help it which it did some but no luck going all the way through.
2. It originally came with a thumbhole stock which i swapped out many years ago. Apparently I didn't put back in the T nut for the grip screw so the back end of the trigger was resting on the top of the screw which I'm assuming isn't the correct way to install and adjust it.

I've ordered new pins and a T nut and grip screw from Palmetto State Armory. I'm hoping that will solve those issues.
Now any other issues that I may run into? I'm wondering with mine being a milled receiver as opposed to a stamped, will that affect anything?
Link Posted: 10/19/2023 1:49:14 AM EDT
[#1]
Sounds like the trigger parts have an undersized diameter.  Don’t sand down the pins, as they need to lock into the receiver on the right side…

And probably your grip screw is just a little too long.  You don’t need a T nut in a milled receiver, it is built in/riveted onto the receiver already.  

You can probably just trim down the grip screw if it is hitting the trigger parts, take a look to see how far it is protruding into the interior and how much can be trimmed down.  Just don’t fuck up the threads when doing it.  If you re-used the grip screw from the thumbhole stock it is most certainly not the correct length for a regular grip.