Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/22/2024 9:38:58 PM EDT
I don't know too much about barrels. I have a Compass Lake Douglass 16", a Craddock Precision RTR 16", and a White Oak Armament 16" barrel for 3 of my guns. I'm building a 4th build and would like some guidance.

Do precision barrels have long barrel life? Would a barrel from Compass Lake, Craddock Precision, or White Oak hold up well as a SHTF barrel? People keep telling me to get a chrome-lined CHF barrel as that is what most militaries use.

Again, I'm new to this type of stuff. Can my existing builds, using those precision barrels be good enough for a SHTF situation, or do I need to invest in a chrome-lined CHF barrel from Noveske, Daniel Defense, BCM, FN, etc for my next build?
Link Posted: 4/22/2024 9:57:48 PM EDT
[#1]
What metric do you use to quantify if a barrel is at end of life? What is the intended firing schedule?
Link Posted: 4/22/2024 10:15:28 PM EDT
[#2]
Just maintain what you have and it'll last approximately as long as designed for.
Link Posted: 4/22/2024 10:44:11 PM EDT
[#3]
What does SHTF have to do with barrel life?  Do you expect to set up on a ridge and mag dump into advancing enemies or something?

In even the most dire situation I doubt you would come close to reaching the end of use cycle of a typical barrel.
Link Posted: 4/22/2024 11:11:59 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By s4s4u:
What does SHTF have to do with barrel life?  Do you expect to set up on a ridge and mag dump into advancing enemies or something?

In even the most dire situation I doubt you would come close to reaching the end of use cycle of a typical barrel.
View Quote

This. If you intend to throw thousands of rounds training, then yes, I'd build a specific gun for it. Just home intruder or even some walking dead scenario, what you have is fine.
Link Posted: 4/22/2024 11:30:48 PM EDT
[#5]