Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » A2 Builds
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/4/2024 9:10:26 PM EDT
[Last Edit: C2Installs]
While there have been a number of threads on Canada's interesting AR15 variants, they have all been relegated to the archives and most were not comprehensive. Worse, most have broken links to external picture hosting sites. This thread is an effort to offer a solid reference for those seeking to copy/clone/emulate these weapons. I’m no expert, just a long time ARFCommer who has been on a multi-year quest to itch my own C7/C8 scratch. I was first exposed to C7-series weapons while stationed at Fort Drum, NY. I was an infantryman and we trained with Canadian Forces a few times and even had a JRTC rotation with a CF sister unit. My own AR15 experience includes a stint as a unit armorer, armorer for my agency when I was a police officer, ownership of AR15s since 1997, and two Colt LE Armorer certifications.

This is a resource info and image thread and hopefully it can be tacked. The info is accumulated from many sources, including the Black Rifle II, by Chris Bartocci, numerous online videos, Diemaco/Colt Canada marketing literature, Canadian Forces documents, and, of course, various online forums and sources, including AR15.com archived threads. Let me know if you have corrections, context, or images to add. I do not claim any of these images unless specified. Anyone wanting to see specific images attributed or removed should contact me.

This thread focuses on Canadian Forces weapons. The export weapons, like the L119 series are not going to be specifically covered.

Pictured above, C7A2, C7A1, C7

PART I - The C7 Series

I’ll save the detailed history lesson and offer a summary of the most common weapons in the family. Adopted in 1983 following the Canadian SARP (Small Arms Replacement Program) efforts, these are the C7 variants: