Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Machine Sewing Question (Page 1 of 2)
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 1/20/2024 12:32:38 PM EDT
Goal is to bind edges inside various GI MOLLE pouches, after searing edges of fabric.

Need to learn how to machine-sew GrosGrain "binding" tape on unbound edges of nylon fabric.  90% of the time, fabric will be typical GI (200D?) fabric, 2 layers plus grosgrain binder.  Mostly about 1/2" down to 1/4" width of fabric available for binding.  Is there a way to hold the grosgrain ribbon in place prior to stitching?

Have a "decent" all-metal home sewing machine--no fancy features-- and plan to have an actual seamstress give me some lessons using it.

Will also need advice on proper thread and appropriate needles.  Grosgrain probably from Rockywoods.

I'm a total Newb when it comes to machine sewing, but hopefully some lessons will take the curse off most of that.

Thanks in advance!
Link Posted: 1/20/2024 5:03:38 PM EDT
[Last Edit: d4xycrq] [#1]
Not familiar with materials identical to yours, but when binding a quilt I cheat and use a glue stick to get the binding right where I want it.  Helps especially where you mitre corners.  Once the glue stick is smeared where I want it, I use Wonder Clips to pinch everything together until the glue sets.  Practice, practice, practice.

Edited to add:  once the glue has set - sew with your choice of stitch and thread with a bit less stress than without the glue.
Link Posted: 1/20/2024 5:45:52 PM EDT
[#2]
Back when I went to parachute rigger school in the AF, we were taught to rub beeswax onto one side of binding tape, fold it in half to form a crease, open it up, lay the fabric edge along the crease, fold the tape back over, then sew it in place.

It's a bit of a pain in the ass to do, but if you don't actually have a binding tape folder it works.
Link Posted: 1/20/2024 5:54:45 PM EDT
[#3]