Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/9/2024 1:13:41 PM EDT
Hello all,

So I have an old 1911 that I’ve inherited from my Dad.. nothing special it just a basic Springfield 1911A1 Milspec.
It has been sitting in the safe since my Dad passed away but I’d like to give it a new life.

I was thinking about having the slide machined for better sights and maybe cut for a RDS. The frame may be modified slightly as well. Nothing too extreme anyway.

How should it be refinished?
I’m a total noob as far as Cerakote (that’s what the shop that would do the machining suggested)… none of my guns is cerakoted.. I’m a true parkerized fanboy.
How durable is it?

If cerakote is the way I’m open to ideas as well.. feel free to post pics.
My idea would be something like grey slide & od or some shade of bronze for the frame… leaving the original barrel SS

Thanks!

Link Posted: 2/9/2024 2:02:19 PM EDT
[#1]
Cerakote is a spray-on paint if you will.  Parkerizing chemically changes the surface of the metal.  If you want a color that isn't blue or gray, then Cerakote is the answer.  Parkerizing would be the more traditional choice and likely cheaper.  Cerakoted surfaces are not prone to rust so that's an advantage.  Both are durable if properly cared for and cleaned as needed.  I've had pistols with both finishes and holster wear seems similar.
Link Posted: 2/11/2024 10:17:56 AM EDT
[#2]
Speaking finish types only, Cerakote is great for 1911's as it doesn't add a lot dimension--it's very thin. Parking is going to be a little thicker, so consider that if you have tight tolerances.