Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/15/2024 9:26:52 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Switchback_Arms]
Just saw the local Walmart had some of this for $21.88/10rds, anybody ever try it out?  Would this be a good HD round, specifically for an 18.5" Mossberg 590?  (I'm a shotgun noob)

Conversely, as I'm doing more research, are mini-shells the way to go nowadays?

Winchester Defender 2.75" Slug/00 Buck

Thanks
Link Posted: 4/15/2024 10:11:27 AM EDT
[#1]
I sold a lot of both as an FFL . The Defender line had a lot of fans. The mini shells did too, but depending on what you're shooting it out of you need an adapter
Link Posted: 4/15/2024 10:46:24 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By tc556guy:
I sold a lot of both as an FFL . The Defender line had a lot of fans. The mini shells did too, but depending on what you're shooting it out of you need an adapter
View Quote

Yeah, I just ordered my first shotgun so I want to try out all sorts of stuff.  The mini-shells seem like the new hotness.  I figured I'd pick this up:

UNIVERSAL MINISHELL ADAPTER/MAG FOLLOWER KIT FOR MOSSBERG PUMP SHOTGUNS
Link Posted: 4/15/2024 1:06:28 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Blain] [#3]
I wouldn't use a 12 gauge slug for home defense (esp in an urban or suburban environment).  I like #4 buck for close quarters defense, esp inside the home.  In my experience, the Federal #4 buck mini shells pattern tight (tighter than the regular 2 3/4" #4 buck loads in my experience).  I would feel very confident using them within 15 yards, you also get increased magazine capacity, less recoil, and less muzzle blast / flash indoors.  15 pellets of #4 buck in a 12 gauge mini shell is very comparable in power and payload to non magnum 20 gauge buckshot loads.