Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/6/2024 1:38:49 AM EDT
I’ve been kicking around buying or building a plasma table for a while now. I’m a rank amateur when it comes to anything having to do with CNC controls. I have taken a couple of drafting classes over the years, but I’m guess that I’ll be re-learning whatever software I wind up using. I have a Prime Weld plasma cutter and an air compressor that’s probably too small but technically within spec to supply the cutter.

I’m seeing a ton of ads for Langmuir and Arc Droid. I’ve also looked at the JD’s Garage diy videos. Is there something else out there that I should be considering for an entry level plasma table? I'm not doing any production or anything large. I’m thinking 4’x4’ at biggest; something to mess around with in a home garage, make some parts, ornamental pieces and maybe a sign or two. It might turn into something more than that someday, but just hobby stuff for now. Assume my budget is less than “Call for Quote”.

I’d love to hear your suggestions and experiences, even with just cnc plasma in general. Talk me out of it, talk me into it, share videos, show your projects. I don’t know what I don’t know.
Link Posted: 3/6/2024 7:37:18 AM EDT
[#1]
plasmaCam has good software and has been around for a long time.  however they are pricey and a pain in the ass to work with.  there should be better options but at our shop we are stuck with it.  my ex bought a 1000w laser and it has been a total cluster fuck to get it running correctly.  get some software-operating system with a good track history and references or its just going to be a dumpster fire.  I hope someone has a current good direction on this as I am always looking.  we run the big hypertherm torches and I would recommend them when/if you upgrade.
Link Posted: 3/6/2024 8:36:03 AM EDT
[#2]