Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/1/2024 9:46:53 PM EDT
I own a Precision Matthew's 1030V lathe. Generally not a great machine....

I decided to try carriage drilling so I bought a mt2 tool post holder to utilize the mt2 tapers I bought to quick change in my tail stock.

I'm going to try and do a better video tomorrow. One hand videos are not easy.

I'm super pleased. I really didn't expect it to do so well. The 1/4 pilot drill took more pressure than the 1/2.

I don't intend to abuse the new found capability but will sure make life easier.
Link Posted: 2/1/2024 10:10:37 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Stiles1410] [#1]
I thought PM are supposed to be top of the line hobby machines?

I have a jet 9x20 but I’m just learning

I tried some drilling a couple weeks ago also but my tailstock must be slightly off center as my hole was not perfectly centered.

Did you use a center drill first?
Link Posted: 2/1/2024 10:32:17 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Stiles1410:

I have a jet 9x20 but I’m just learning

I tried some drilling a couple weeks ago also but my tailstock must be slightly off center as my hole was not perfectly centered.

Did you use a center drill first?
View Quote

I spot drilled and pilot drilled with a 1/4" drill. That part of the video was pretty crappy so I erased it.
Link Posted: 2/1/2024 11:18:05 PM EDT
[#3]
Originally Posted By Stiles1410:
View Quote

Top of the line in the budget import class of machines, yes. Top of the line out of all machines? Not anywhere close to even the middle, let alone top. If I had to rank a PM against all lathes new, old, domestic, & foreign I would put them somewhere around the 12th percentile.
Link Posted: 2/2/2024 2:07:52 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 2/2/2024 7:12:46 AM EDT
[#5]