Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/8/2023 8:27:41 PM EDT
I’ve been riding my Trek Farley 5 for a couple years. I just moved to a location that is near some of my states best mountain biking, Cuyuna Lakes trails. Been a couple times and it’s awesome.

Anyway I’ve been reading about Absolute Black oval chainrings. I’m a little intrigued but looking for real world experience if it’s worth it or not.

Who’s got 1 and what’s your thought
Link Posted: 8/9/2023 11:12:49 AM EDT
[#1]
I have a few on my team that have the AB oval.  Overall I have heard mix reviews from them.....

Here is the main issue that I have heard and even seen while in a ride/race.  If you have a higher cadence (90 or more) many times the oval chainring just does wild stuff to your pedal stroke.

I have a high cadence (sprinter here) so I have kept with round rings.....and it is cheaper to just spin more to easy the hit on your legs/knees.
Link Posted: 8/9/2023 4:20:39 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm mostly looking at the advantage I read about on hill climbs. On my fat tire thru the wood I tend to just go at a slow comfortable speed. My last trip my gps tracked me at 9.5 mph. Last time I had to much speed I went over the bars (3 weeks ago). Was a downhill but that's another story. And at 50 it takes a lot longer to recover.
Link Posted: 8/12/2023 3:46:01 AM EDT
[#3]
I like oval chainrings but they're very much a marginal gain/user perception type benefit. MTB project shows one of the biggest rides in Cuyana Lakes area at 21 miles and 1k' climbing. You will not likely notice much difference with an oval chainring on a ride with relatively little elevation gain. For perspective it's very common to pick up 1k' vert within 2-3 miles of trails in the Western US.