Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/21/2024 10:14:57 AM EDT
After years of wanting one I finally ordered a tig.

I got the everlast 255ext with two torches.

I ordered a package of 2% thorium or whatever electrodes 3/32 and a 5lb box of filler.

This week I'll head to the gas supply to buy another bottle, I think it's traight argon right?

Anyway what else do I need to get started?

I'm a hobby welder so just looking to scratch the itch.  And for anyone who's wondering why no Miller or Lincoln, I can't belive how expensive they got :( they basically doubled in price since the last time I considered it.ive got a Miller 175 for mig and a Hobart 60a for plasma, it felt a bit wrong to go green here but there's only so much $ to go around.

Link Posted: 4/21/2024 10:32:40 AM EDT
[Last Edit: K1rodeoboater] [#1]
How you planning on sharpening your tungsten?  I bought a grinder head that attaches to a Dremel tool.  Bit of a Gucci purchase but it will help with some consistency while learning.

Got a set of TIG gloves?  Don't try to do TIG with MIG gloves on.  

And yes pure argon is what you seek.

Did you get a stubby kit or are you using standard consumables?  Maybe grab an extra pack of collets.

Maybe grab a second pack of tungsten. And sharpen all of them the same. So when you inevitably dip, or q-tip it, you can swap and keep going. Then later have a cut n grind session to hack off the contaminated section and resharpen everything at once.
Link Posted: 4/21/2024 10:36:48 AM EDT
[Last Edit: ggllggll] [#2]
Talk to me about the gloves, what's different?

For grinder I've got a small bench geinder with a fine stone that I hoped would work.

The consumables idk about.  It came with a #9 and a #20 torch.  I read the 20 torch is water cooled only, so hopefully I can get what I want done with the 9.  If you got a link to some consumables or stubby pass it along?