Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/17/2020 4:20:52 PM EDT
[Last Edit: thawntex]
I'm looking for honest feedback. Please, don't hold back. I'm new at this.

My daughter is 12. We had planned to send her to the junior high her big sister attended, but over the summer we decided to homeschool.

To be honest, I didn't prepare much. I came up with a basic outline of what I wanted to teach (I did consult TEKS for what she would have been taught in public school), and then we went for it. Fortunately, we developed a routine quickly, and we've stuck with it, as it seems to he working. Here it is.

At 9:00 she starts with Bible study. She gets a star (more on that later) for getting herself up, and starting her lesson without being asked. She's studying I Samuel, verse by verse, using a wonderful program from a local church. We read the text together, she does a study packet which takes a few days, and then we listen to a lecture that covers the text. The series is intended for women, but I think it's also appropriate for girls my daughter's age.

We then move on to math. We're using Math-U-See, pre-algebra. My daughter isn't strong in math, honestly, but we're getting there. Most of what we've done so far is a review of what she did in public school. She seems to struggle particularly with word problems. She'll do well on a basic problem where she knows which rules to follow, but getting her to develop and think through the procedure for doing a word problem has been a challenge. Some days we skip the DVD lessons and worksheets, and just sit at the whiteboard to hammer random problems out together.

Then she'll hop on her phone and do some Duolingo (French). By the time she's done it's normally 10:45 or11:00, and I'll let her have a break.