Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/12/2024 12:17:56 PM EDT
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:20:43 PM EDT
[#1]
They want to follow the Hispanic way but don't understand how it actually goes.
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:23:35 PM EDT
[Last Edit: SAE] [#2]
I think it just may be that people want to sound important through a name or series of names or something like that.
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:25:15 PM EDT
[#3]
I work in education and see many different combinations of parents' and kids' names. It can be mind boggling. To kinda answer your question, I recently came across a parent who had a hyphenated last name, divorced, and then got remarried to someone with one of the same last names. So now she is a "Jackson-Jackson." The stepdad is adopting the kid so I'm curious if they're going to change the kid's name to some weird Jackson-Jackson-Jackson.
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:25:55 PM EDT
[Last Edit: bayouhazard] [#4]
Hispanics seem to have figured out compound family names. Hopefully your friend and her offspring can come up with something that works for them.
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:36:26 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:40:22 PM EDT
[#6]
Originally Posted By DrFrige:
Or was this not really thought out?
View Quote

Exactly. Cousin-in-law took husband’s hyphenated last name and hilarity ensued as everyone thinks her maiden name is one of the two. They both agree in hindsight they should have picked one of his hyphenated parts and BOTH adopted that.
Link Posted: 3/12/2024 12:41:07 PM EDT
[Last Edit: SAE] [#7]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By txtj79: