Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/4/2023 2:54:49 PM EDT
[Last Edit: PolarBear416]
Are these only for range use? I am a revolver newb, my one and only revolver is a new Python and I have been looking around for a holster.

I'd like to be able to wear it wherever, such as in the woods, where twigs and brambles might interact with the trigger so I'm really leery of an exposed trigger. I would want both a thumb strap and a covered trigger.

You can tell me that revolvers have a long DA trigger pull but my Python seems to have a really nice, smooth and NOT that hard to pull trigger.

Anyway. Am I the only one that worries about this? Seems like every holster either has a fully exposed trigger or at least a significant gap inside the trigger guard.
Link Posted: 12/4/2023 3:01:49 PM EDT
[#1]
You are not the only one to have such concerns.  I think it is more of a generational thing.  Young people worry about, whereas older shooters are more used to it, as most of the old holsters were made that way.

I have several old holsters with exposed trigger guards, and after nearly a half century, I haven't had one fail that way.  Not saying it is not possible, just that is my experience.
Link Posted: 12/4/2023 3:05:34 PM EDT
[#2]
I've seen this going back hundred + years. On a double action with a serious pull or a single action carried hammer down, I have no concerns and would carry that way.
Hell I was reading recently about a Texas Ranger that carried a Cocked and Locked, exposed trigger 1911, with the grip safety tied down. That seems like a lot of trust in a single safety but he lived to tell the tale, so I guess it's OK?
Link Posted: 12/4/2023 3:09:23 PM EDT
[#3]