Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/20/2023 11:44:36 AM EDT
I have a barely used mid 90s Springfield Armory M1911A1 that I was thinking of trading in on a Tisas US Army. I have no experience trading in a firearm on another firearm and I realize the answer will mostly be "it depends", but generally, is this something I could expect a fair deal on? I understand the gun store is in the business of making a profit, not helping me obtain a different M1911A1 because it's more like the one my grandfathers carried in WWII. Thanks, y'all.
Link Posted: 1/20/2023 12:19:33 PM EDT
[#1]
Why? I’d keep the Springfield all day.
Link Posted: 1/20/2023 12:27:18 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By BillyDBerger:
Why? I’d keep the Springfield all day.
View Quote

Link Posted: 1/20/2023 12:38:46 PM EDT
[Last Edit: ScoutH57] [#3]
I'd keep that Springfield, that'd be a silly trade IMO.

Which "more like the one your grandpa carried" look are you after? You can change grips and stuff.
Link Posted: 1/20/2023 1:36:13 PM EDT
[#4]
Springfield is a much better handgun, no way would I do that trade.  Are they included any cash to make up the difference in value?
Link Posted: 1/20/2023 3:47:46 PM EDT
[#5]
Thanks for the replies. I realize this trade idea doesn't make much sense from a practical standpoint. I have an M18 for my carry sidearm which takes care of the practical concerns. My Springfield straddles a line between GI spec and modern. In short, it's simply a matter of aesthetics -  which admittedly would be a stupid reason to trade if I was talking about something to carry on duty. The Tisas US Army model looks identical to an issue M1911A1, the Springfield doesn't.

Ideally, I'd love to be able to just keep it and also buy the Tisas but I can't really justify that at this point.