Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Any Extras here? (Page 1 of 2)
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 5/1/2024 4:09:11 PM EDT
I’m studying for my General and I’m getting above 90 in the practice exams. I’m thinking about studying for my Extra after General and go for it.

How hard is the Extra?
Link Posted: 5/1/2024 4:20:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Extra is definitely more challenging and pulls from a question pool of 750, instead of 450 with the General. I studied for my General for about 4-6 weeks, my Extra was about 2 months. I used hamstudy.org or a variation of.

You can take the Extra exam anyway, and they encourage you to do that. I think it's worth studying for.
Link Posted: 5/1/2024 4:46:23 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By TimeIsMoney:
Extra is definitely more challenging and pulls from a question pool of 750, instead of 450 with the General. I studied for my General for about 4-6 weeks, my Extra was about 2 months. I used hamstudy.org or a variation of.

You can take the Extra exam anyway, and they encourage you to do that. I think it's worth studying for.
View Quote

Most assuredly worth going "all the way"

My extra class was done in 1975 so not too relevant here, BUT the wife completed her Extra last year after about 6 weeks of occasional study over an internet study service I paid $35 for. She got it first try over 90 percent.  She has ZERO electronics experience. Never worked in an electronics related industry or anything like that. She had been a ham since 1983 but not too active. She was grandfathered into General from  the old Tech Plus license. Since she had 5 wpm code she slid into General many  years ago without taking another test.

She just decided to get the Extra out of the way.  I would recommend going for it.
Link Posted: 5/1/2024 5:03:11 PM EDT
[#3]