Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Optics & Accessories
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 2/15/2010 2:10:34 PM EDT
Starting a ak74 project. Going to convert a saiga 5.45. Need help deciding on an optic. Whats is considered better, a Kobra red dot or one from the PK series? Do you see a big change in zero when removing the side mount and remounting to clean?  Is an ultimak with a red dot usually the best bet? Thanks!
Link Posted: 2/15/2010 3:40:46 PM EDT
[#1]
I'll be honest, I have no idea but I'm liking what I am hearing from the PK-AS.  

1. It looks killer IMO.
2. It supposedly has a wide field of view.
3. I like that it is quick detach.
4. You can run it with no batteries in daylight.

Obviously you shouldn't take my advice since I have no experience with the site.  One who does seems to be Tx Zen.  From the photos he has posted, I gather he likes the site somewhat.

I'm very interested in this site my self.  

The Kobras seem cool with all the different patterns they have, just ugly IMHO.
Link Posted: 2/15/2010 4:14:08 PM EDT
[#2]
Did  a search on the PK. Really liking those. Could only find the PK AS on east wave for $288.00.
Link Posted: 2/15/2010 4:38:55 PM EDT
[#3]
IMO the PK-A is the easiest to zero, then the Kobra and lastly the PK-AS, but I prefer the PK-AS to them all. I know LiquidMetal has been happy with his PK-23 which is next on my list of optics to try.

Ulimately for me the deal maker is the always on black dot of the PK-AS, plus the small size and ease of shooting with both eyes open which is starting to become something I enjoy. You can still use irons with the PK-AS-S model which is the one I prefer, offset to the left.

Can't beat it for looks either, and I think it's built pretty darn tough.

SGL31

SLR105

Z
Page AK-47 » Optics & Accessories
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!