Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/12/2004 10:28:07 AM EDT
Now normally I go to a local Cuban bakery for my Cafe con Leche in the morning.   As most Floridians will attest, Cuban bakeries, their owners and most of their patrons are about as left-leaning as Ollie, G. Gordon and Rush.

For some reason I decided to pop into a Starbucks I've driven by, but never had the pleasure of patronizing.  Outside are parked an eclectic mix of BIG SUV’s made in countries that lost WWII, little econoboxes built in various Pacific Rim nations and bicycles of unknown make or origin. Please note that I have had little experience with "bikes" except for the occasional Schwinn or Harley-Davidson.  God gave us internal combustion engines for a reason and I'm not pedaling.  Over half the vehicles have some variety of "I Kream over Kerry!" or "Bush is a Nazi Thug" bumper stickers - you get the idea.

I decide to back my 90' Dodge Power Ram (Ol' Blue) into the (only available) space directly in front of the (fully occupied) outside patio seating.  My 14 year old exhaust system, coupled with a 4" hillbilly lift, had the unfortunate side effect of fumigating the (outdoor-loving, venti-double-decaf-lite-mocha-frappacino-quaffing, lycra-clad, well-coifed) seated soccer MILFs with several cubic feet of toxic, malodorous Detroit perfume.  

"Ol' Blue"

I'm not sure if it was the smog I produced with Ol' Blue, or the "Viva Bush" and "NRA for Mel Martinez" stickers on the window, but something caused facial contortions like these women just found out their Vietnamese manicurist cancelled their 1 o'clock, the Mall burned down and their "Doctor" won't get any more Botox in for at least a month.  With a jaunty nod and a wink (and admittedly, perhaps a mild leer) to the gagging gaggle of liberal ladies, I proceeded into the store, a small whiff of burned hydrocarbons trailing behind.