Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/27/2004 5:22:22 PM EDT
A friend and fellow AR and AK owner keeps telling me that magazines with capacity higher than
30 rounds are illegal.  Any OH folks out there ever hear of that?
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 5:32:16 PM EDT
[#1]
In OH, if the mag has more than 30 rounds, the firearm is considered an illegal machine gun, even if it is semiautomatic.
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 5:32:23 PM EDT
[#2]
Go to the hometown forums under Ohio to get your answer! And they are correct!
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 6:08:12 PM EDT
[#3]
Except for .22 cals
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 6:21:46 PM EDT
[#4]
I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding is that the mag that can hold more than 30 rounds is legal.  However when inserted into a gun the gun is considered a machine gun.  Which is fine if it is NFA registered.  However if it is not it is an illegal machine gun.  But the mag itself it legal to sell, own, etc.
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 6:24:13 PM EDT
[#5]
Ohio Revised Code 2923.11 (Definitions)

(E) "Automatic firearm" means any firearm designed or specially adapted to fire a succession of cartridges with a single function of the trigger. "Automatic firearm" also means any semi-automatic firearm designed or specially adapted to fire more than thirty-one cartridges without reloading, other than a firearm chambering only .22 caliber short, long, or long-rifle cartridges.  

Sarge
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 6:37:56 PM EDT
[#6]
True, I got busted at the range with my SAR-1 and 40 round mag. They were nice about it and even produced the paper with the law on it. guess they get that alot.
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 7:11:30 PM EDT
[#7]