Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/15/2005 4:22:10 PM EDT
At the end of May, I got the FDCC lower I ordered, and decided to build a lightweight rifle with it.  Over the past few weeks, with New-arguy's help, I got a light weight Bushmaster barrel and C7 upper from the Equipment Exchange, and a Colt shaved bolt carrier (lightweight), also from the EE.  I was able to get an Armalite bolt from New-arguy.  I used the adjustable stock from my Bushmaster M4 (which I replaced awhile ago with an LMT Crane stock), the trigger assembly from my A4 (which went from the A4 to my recce rifle and was then replaced there with a Chip McCormick trigger). The Hogue grip came from my A4, as well.  All the remaining bits and pieces are Rock River.  Oh, and of course it has an ambi-catch and ambi-safety.  I will be adding a compact ACOG as soon as possible.  Right now the rifle weighs in at just barely under 6 lbs.  I'm pretty happy with it.  Thanks for all your help, New-arguy.

All the parts lying on the counter at Gun Gallery, Jacksonville, FL.

Another view of some of the parts-the lower and grip.

The stock.

The upper.

Coming together....

Almost done...

New-arguy wiping the rifle down after putting it together.

Close-up of the scale.

Rifle sitting on the scale - weighing in at just under 6 lbs.

Yay!! Proud owner of a light weight rifle! standing next to Tactical Matt (who lives at Gun Gallery).
Link Posted: 6/15/2005 4:41:51 PM EDT
[#1]
Excellent - enjoy!

Good Luck,

Lion_dog
Link Posted: 6/15/2005 4:42:43 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:

Being a recent light weight convert, I say good job.

Neil's looking better these days - did he get a hair cut or something...............new hat and sunglasses maybe????
Link Posted: 6/15/2005 4:43:18 PM EDT
[#3]
Very nice!  The older I get, the more I like 'lightweight.'  

Be sure and let us know how it shoots!
Link Posted: 6/15/2005 5:09:28 PM EDT
[#4]