Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/9/2003 6:59:15 AM EDT
I need to preface this question by stating I am a beginner to the shooting sports and everything gun related, but will try my best to explain clearly what is happening.

I recently built a kit from J&T, overall it works great, but there is a minor problem that I would like to correct.  Every few rounds or so, the trigger doesn't reset to the ready position immediately, sometimes takes a second or two.  Sometimes it requires tweaking the mag, or the fire selector to get the trigger all the way back out.  Again everything else seems to be ok.  Is this a common problem?  I initially thought it just needed some break in time, smoothening of the firing components (I only have about 200 rnds through it).  But I feel it should function better than it does for being a new rifle.  So that leaves it to my failure as a gun builder, weak spring, or......?

Thanks for any input
Link Posted: 7/9/2003 7:26:08 AM EDT
[#1]
...or a slightly out-of-spec lower.

The sear engagement angle is not properly camming the trigger back into place. Is everything clean & lubed?

The problem could stem from having the trigger/hammer pivot holes drilled in the wrong spots, but more likely is because of a weak spring or defective hammer sear ledge/trigger nose angle.

I have a few questions: is the disconnector releasing the trigger, allowing the hammer sear to be engaged, whereupon it hangs, or is the disconnector holding the trigger up? Can you push the trigger back into place (forward) with your finger?

If the disconnector is the culprit, either replace it or file the hook's underside just a bit, then polish it.

If it's off the disconnector, then I'd try a new trigger first.

Regards, and good luck!

FastVFR800
Link Posted: 7/9/2003 8:56:19 AM EDT
[#2]