Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/15/2005 8:51:59 AM EDT
After reading dozens of MIM (metal injection molded) threads over the last year, and working on tons of guns with MIM, I wanted to throw out some thoughts on the matter.  I'm no expert, but I do work on a lot of 1911s, and have some experiences I would like to share.  

I had a very lengthy conversation with my father in law the other day about MIM.  He's a metalurgical engineer, with metalurgy experience dating back to the late 60's in the military.  He is well aware of MIM technology, and enlightened me about the molecular characteristics, as well as the fact that there are different types of MIM.  One of the biggest points he made to me is that poor MIM parts in guns can most likely be attributed to low grade, inexpensive powdered metals.  Properly produced MIM parts with good metal should not lead to birttle parts and premature breakage.

What made me think about all this is how many people will denounce MIM, while others will say how MIM is just fine because they never had a problem in their one or two guns.  The truth is probably somewhere in between.

Over the last 5 years or so, I've noticed the following on guns I've personally worked on or seen in my friend's shop.  Kimber and Springfield use numerous MIM parts, and not all of the parts are prone to breakage.  Some parts that I've seen break after very minimal usage are hammers, slide stops, ejectors, ambi safeties at the joint, and firing pin stops.  Of the other numerous MIM parts, like grips safeties, exctractors, sears, disconnectors, mag releases, mainspring housings etc., I have seen no premature parts breakages.