Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/9/2024 11:01:25 PM EDT
I’ve always felt like processing range scrap was a PITA using my Lee pot, never felt like I was getting all the lead out of the jackets and trying to fish the jackets out without scooping molten lead back into them can be tricky.

I have a propane furnace that I routinely melt copper, brass and aluminum in. Wondering if the copper and lead in the range scrap would stay separate when both metals are molten or would they try to alloy.
Link Posted: 6/9/2024 11:39:22 PM EDT
[#1]
I think that they would try to alloy, but I am no expert.  I did find this description of a Babbitt alloy.

Copper HardGrade 6 +50-52%35-37%11-13%0.5-1.5%360F655F

The 50-52% is lead, and the 0.5-1.5% is copper.  The other two are tin and antimony.
Link Posted: 6/10/2024 1:41:13 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 6/10/2024 10:11:36 AM EDT
[#3]
I do a lot of range lead smelting and casting. About 20 years ago I was shocked to find out that I had a bunch of stuff at the bottom of the pot I use to render bullets into ingots. That's when I found out about Tungsten cores.
Link Posted: 6/10/2024 11:43:24 AM EDT
[Last Edit: AeroE] [#4]
Link Posted: 6/10/2024 8:22:20 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History

They separate just fine, and that's what the slotted spoon is for.
The separate fine when the copper is solid and the lead is liquid. OP is asking about melted lead mixing with melted copped.

You should smelt in a pan and use you Lee furnace for casting.

This is the answer. Stop smelting in your Lee pot and use a separate pot and turkey fryer burner or equivalent.

View Quote

Link Posted: 6/10/2024 9:47:32 PM EDT
[Last Edit: fgshoot] [#6]
I would quit casting if I had to smelt lead in a 20 pound pot.