Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/25/2006 8:16:15 AM EDT
This is my first build and I decided to go with Model 1 Sales. Since there seemed to be a difference of opinion on their products and service, I figured I would detail my experience so that future 1st time builders or experienced builders, would have a first hand account of how it went, whether or not they should order from them, quality, ease of assembly, etc. I'll also include a review of the lower I purchase and the ease of assembly of fitting the parts. Thanks to ARin and Parabellium who helped me decide on what and what not to get.

Ordering Process: I ordered (3) 16" C.A.R. kits from Model 1 on Tuesday, May 23rd. I was told that there would be a 3-5 day wait while they processed and assembled the order and then a 3-5 day shipping time. That was completely reasonable and I assumed that I would receive the kits on/about May 31. Before I even indicated I would be ordering from them, the receptionist was very polite, answered a long list of questions I had, and told me to call back anytime if I had any more questions or concerns. Instead of calling back, I placed my order right then. Shipping was reasonable at $15 for the first kit and $8 for each addt'l kit. After completing the order, I hung up and marked May 31 on my calendar as the receive date.

On Thursday, May 25, a UPS package arrived at approximately 11AM and it contained all 3 kits. The kits look to be of good quality, the finishes are uniform, the stocks look sturdy, etc. As a first time builder, but having been around M16/M4's for the last 8 years, I have no reservations about the quality and am overall impressed. Quality aside, how about that shipping time? Two days? Wow