Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 8/21/2024 6:14:02 PM EDT
I was out shooting today. I am new to AK's and have a Zastava M70 that I am happy with. When I rock the magazine in, it clicked but was not fully seated as the front of the bullet caught under the chamber failing to feed. I pulled the magazine and tried setting it in again and it was fine.

Is there a technique in rocking the magazine in as I suspect I'm not placing it correctly? Thanks.
Link Posted: 8/21/2024 8:05:06 PM EDT
[Last Edit: KILLERB6] [#1]
Link Posted: 8/21/2024 8:22:44 PM EDT
[#2]
I suspect that when I insert the magazine,  it's the angle I'm inserting it at. My reasoning being that when I reinsert it, everything is fine. The magazine that  does it is both the Serbian and a KCI ( Korean) magazine that I bought on my own.
Next time I'll try it with the bolt retracted in the safety lever and see if that helps.
I suspect it's the way I'm inserting the magazine and just have to " play around " with it.
I will say that I'm very confident to hit a target at 100 yds. Definitely my " house gun" .
Link Posted: 8/21/2024 8:44:13 PM EDT
[#3]
Odd that your first insertion technique would be different from your second.

Can you take a pic?  Under the bullet guide sounds funky.
Link Posted: 8/21/2024 9:20:48 PM EDT
[Last Edit: formermarine63] [#4]
Having been trained on the M14 or M1A, where magazine inserting is the same, there was a learning curve to inserting and rocking the magazine. Inserting and rocking the magazine was a point where newbies had a problem. I didn't think to take pictures,  but will next time. There is reasons,  maybe I have to make sure the magazine is all the ways forward? Maybe I have to make sure that the front of the magazine is in far enough before I rock it back to click.
I honestly don't think it's the firearm because Zastava has a good track record.