Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 10/23/2023 9:44:57 AM EDT
Hello all. As the title says, I'm looking for recommendations for good HD ammo for 5.56/223 and 300BLK. I have hornady subsonic 190gr for 300BLK and Fiocchi 50gr VMAX for 223. However, I'm wondering if this is sufficient for my purposes. My main priority is over penetration, which is why I chose what I chose for each caliber. For the builds I'm using 5.56/223 (12.5" Geissele upper with Griffin MK2 lower) 300BLK (8.5" Criterion 300BLK). Any recommendation/criticisms/etc. is welcome. Don't know a lot of the different bullet tech but been watching videos and reading. Thanks.
Link Posted: 10/23/2023 10:06:16 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Baq] [#1]
I am by no means an ammo expert but have seen enough videos that i would not use Varmint Bullets in 556 for HD, without having knowledge on that specific load. A lot of them lack penetration.

I use 55gr Gold Dots in .223
Link Posted: 10/23/2023 11:08:57 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Baq:
I am by no means an ammo expert but have seen enough videos that i would not use Varmint Bullets in 556 for HD, without having knowledge on that specific load. A lot of them lack penetration.

I use 55gr Gold Dots in .223
View Quote

You are absolutely correct. 223 polymer tip ammo lacks the penetration required for Duty/Defense use.
However in 300blk they meet the minimum requirement for penetration.
Link Posted: 10/23/2023 11:55:39 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Hanjooks] [#3]
Speer Gold Dot in 223 is something I've read to be like some of the best ammo for HD. However, finding it is another issue. Almost impossible to find, even on AmmoSeek.

This was my main source of information:
Top 10 Rifle Defensive Ammos and my thoughts
Link Posted: 10/23/2023 12:40:58 PM EDT
[#4]