Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR-15 / M-16 Retro Forum
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 6/1/2019 3:20:00 PM EDT
So I grabbed this at the local gun show. I was told it was a preban Colt upper, Colt bolt/ bolt carrier but the barrel has me stumped. The barrel looks like a pencil barrel but once i got the handguards off the barrel was like a huge bull barrel.
Thoughts?

Link Posted: 6/1/2019 3:49:33 PM EDT
[#1]
Not a Colt barrel.  Note the roll pins in the FSB.

Might be an Oly barrel.
Link Posted: 6/1/2019 3:57:30 PM EDT
[#2]
yeah I would say it's a Frankenupper

colt receiver, with most likely an Oly barrel screwed to it
Link Posted: 6/1/2019 4:07:04 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
yeah I would say it's a Frankenupper

colt receiver, with most likely an Oly barrel screwed to it
View Quote
I come from the land of AK's so I'm a complete AR newbie. What's an OLY barrel? Is that a brand?
Link Posted: 6/1/2019 4:15:58 PM EDT
[#5]
Olympic Arms, they used to be a big player in the AR world back in the ban days.
Link Posted: 6/1/2019 4:35:08 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
Olympic Arms, they used to be a big player in the AR world back in the ban days.
View Quote
Duh I should have known that's what it was I've heard of them. So the question is if that's an OLY barrel what is the quality?
Link Posted: 6/1/2019 4:43:26 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:

Duh I should have known that's what it was I've heard of them. So the question is if that's an OLY barrel what is the quality?
View Quote
Oly made both basic-grade barrels and some excellent match barrels. Unless it says "Ultra Match" I'm leaning towards just a perfectly fine, usable, ordinary barrel. Nothing special.
Link Posted: 6/1/2019 4:43:58 PM EDT
[#8]
XM-177 barrel is sweet.  Granted it's an 11" barrel with a big FH on it, but OLY quality is good.