Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Lights and Lasers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/13/2024 10:37:36 PM EDT
Hey all - I'm just now getting into night vision, and I have two units I want to equip with IR aiming lasers, one is a DD DDM4 PDW with Eotech EXPS-3, and the other is a full-length DDM4 with an LPVO. I have an NGAL clone for the PDW, and I'm looking at a 3EIR DIR (also known at the TNVC DIR. DIR-ONE, DESIGNATE IR and DIR-1) Dual-beam Vis / IR LAM, because it sits so very low and doesn't obstruct the LPVO. The problem is, I cannot afford the version with the IR ILLUM.

I'm new to all this, but it seems to me there are a lot of aiming lasers that do NOT have integrated illuminators, just lasers. Are there helmet-mounted IR lasers or WML IR leads that can be helmet-mounted that would be just as effective as an integrated IR illum? What are the disadvantages to helmet-mounted Vs rifle-mounted in this application? Are there helmet-mounted versions or heads with adjustable dispersion / beam width?

Would love to hear some opinions. Thanks very much all!
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 11:34:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Firearm mounted IR illuminator is obviously faster to use when shooting and is generally pointed towards the target.

Helmet mounted IR illuminator would be used for different tasks, like searching and looking around and not needing to use the firearm.
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 11:35:16 PM EDT
[#2]
Also, feel free to browse the NV subforum.

https://www.ar15.com/forums/Armory/NV-Tech-Talk/18/
Link Posted: 5/14/2024 12:56:55 AM EDT
[#3]