Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/24/2024 10:42:14 AM EDT
I know, I know. All the usual admonitions for radio selection. What others have in my group. What mission, etc. I just want to know what is the toughest radio you've used, other than .mil radios, when out and about. Yaesu is fairly tough, except for adding a headset or speaker/mic. I have had Motorolas that were bricks, you could practically drive nails with them. The programming is the main problem with them.
Other than that I have no experience on how tough the newer radios are compared to each other and previous versions. Single or dual band? What's good, what's junk?
Link Posted: 7/24/2024 11:27:40 AM EDT
[Last Edit: KaerMorhenResident] [#1]
Check out the Ailunce HD2.

Gives you Digital Encryption and UHF. The other cool feature with that radio is that it can do text messages, why are text messages important? A Text Message has a lower Electronic Warfare (EW) signature as it essentially burst out in miliseconds making it much more dificult to detect and fix the transmission point than regular voice radio transmission, so that's a good feature to have.  

It's also IP67 waterproof and dustproof, which is pretty good.  It's a lot less expensive than say a Hytera and although a lot more expensive it is way more capable and rugged than a UV5R Baofeng. Below is a good video by Grunt Proof that he just did.  It's a good middle of the road option in terms of price, capability, and ruggedness.  You can always get something better, but it will cost you as there are radios that go up to the cost of a decent used car out there. Make sure you do follow the FCC rules as they are the law and it's not that hard to be in compliance with them.  

Digital Radio Encryption with the Ailunce HD 2
Link Posted: 7/24/2024 12:16:27 PM EDT
[#2]