Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/1/2024 4:42:51 PM EDT
Well, the guys I hang out with like to have a little competition every now and then.   This year at deer camp.   It's a 10/22 build and shoot competition.  50 yard shots.   We all have to start with the same Receiver.  

Well, I would like to keep my build under a grand.  But looking around.   May spend a little more than that.

It was suggested that I shop around the Kidd Website.   I've never built a gun from scratch before.   I think that my money should be mostly in the trigger, barrel, and scope.  But you only live once!  So why not spend a little more on a quality build.  

O wise ones.  Lead the way for me.   I would like a threaded barrel.
Link Posted: 8/1/2024 5:08:42 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/1/2024 6:33:08 PM EDT
[#2]
Start with a bare receiver
Here are a few
https://www.gunbroker.com/All/search?IncludeSellers=243304

Get the rest of the parts from your preferred vendor.
Kidd, Volquartsen, Fedderson, TandemKross etc

I have a few Kidd barrels, they all shoot well.
The Boyds SS Evolution is a decent stock
The Enoch/Volquartsen Deep Six chassis looks nice.

Link Posted: 8/1/2024 6:47:41 PM EDT
[#3]
Haven't been on there in awhile but this is what you seek for information
...Rimfire Central
Link Posted: 8/1/2024 7:15:48 PM EDT
[#4]
10/22 headspace on the bolt. A minimum headspace bolt helps accuracy. A pinned FP helps with reliable ignition and accuracy.
Link Posted: 8/1/2024 7:20:22 PM EDT
[Last Edit: QtrHorse] [#5]
10/22’s are a blast!

At 50yds, the biggest factor will be ammo.  You will need to buy some good ammo to group well at 50yds. 10/22’s are also very picky when it comes to ammo.  You and I could build the exact same rifle using the same parts and one would like Eley match ammo and the other might like SKS match ammo.

Have y’all decided on a receiver?