Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/3/2024 7:58:26 PM EDT
Hi,

Reaching out to experts. I am brand new to lever action rifles.
If you had to get one - with the idea that it will be the ONLY lever action rifle you had - would you pick a brand new 20 inch Henry Big Boy with octagonal barrel, side gate, rubber shoulder pad on the stock, etc - or a Japan made Miroku 1892 Winchester 24 inch, regular barrel, metal buttpad, engraved, used in a very good shape. Both 45LC, 10+1, both would be the same money give or take $50.

Thank you in advance!
Link Posted: 6/3/2024 8:11:24 PM EDT
[#1]
Can’t speak to the Henry, but I have a Miroku and it is very well-made.
Link Posted: 6/3/2024 8:52:36 PM EDT
[#2]
Hands down the winchester. I have not been impressed with Henry's.
Link Posted: 6/3/2024 8:55:32 PM EDT
[#3]
both would be the same money give or take $50.
View Quote

Where?

I think you mean the Winchester with a 20" barrel, the 24" holds 13rds.

Actually, I go for the Henry X.
Link Posted: 6/4/2024 3:49:10 AM EDT
[Last Edit: golfish] [#4]
I wouldn't touch a Henry, just because of MY OWN experience but they do haves great customer service. I'd suggest Marlin but I don't think they're making a 45LC right now.

I purchased a 1892 45LC Short Rifle, Winchester  (Japanese) in 2019. Without a doubt it's my favorite lever guns. Their customer service is great too. The problem with the Winchester is that it has a tang safety and rebounding hammer, some folks don't like em. I thought I could live with em but later decided to delete em both via a gunsmith.
Link Posted: 6/4/2024 9:32:31 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By ClanDireWolf:

Where?

I think you mean the Winchester with a 20" barrel, the 24" holds 13rds.

Actually, I go for the Henry X.
View Quote

Yes, my bad - 24 inch so not 10.