Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/30/2024 7:58:23 AM EDT
[Last Edit: K2enemy]
I may be trading WAY up for a 1919A4. So far, I know nothing about it other than what it is and it has a tripod and a T&E. Are there mfgs to avoid. things to look for? I'm waiting on pics and info at this time. I'm just a lowly FO and never had crew served weapons in a training environment but I have some good field experience with M2s. Are they internally similar/break down similarly? Do they have to be timed and head spaced?
Link Posted: 5/30/2024 10:00:02 AM EDT
[Last Edit: svt40] [#1]
Originally Posted By K2enemy:
I may be trading WAY up for a 1919A4. So far, I know nothing about it other than what it is and it has a tripod and a T&E. Are there mfgs to avoid. things to look for? I'm waiting on pics and info at this time. I'm just a lowly FO and never had crew served weapons in a training environment but I have some good field experience with M2s. Are they internally similar/break down similarly? Do they have to be timed and head spaced?
View Quote

Manufacturers to avoid.  I'm going to say anything home built?  I trust mine but not sure I would trust just anyones home build.

Make sure the rivets are all tight.  An older build will have some weld on the trunnion to the side plate.  Newer builds it was not required.  The trunnion is a spot that can wear thin from running links.  The groove for the backplate can also get beat up on an improperly hardened receiver.

IMHO a non Israeli kit is not worth a premium even though folks tend to charge one.

You can get caliber conversion kits. 30.06, 8mm, 7.62x51, 7.62x54r, 7.62x39 just to name a few.

A 7.62x51 bolt will work with 30.06.  A 30.06 bolt will not work properly with 7.62x51.