Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/28/2022 12:21:13 PM EDT
I've noticed that if I'm nearby when the AC or other high-load appliance kicks on, I at least sometimes hear a buzzing sound from my breaker box for a second or maybe two.  Is this normal?  I don't recall hearing it before at my previous house.  Could it be a bad breaker?
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:33:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Might need to check the age of the bees that are stored in the breaker. As breakers age, the bees get a little cantankerous and warn people to get off their lawn.

ETA: I’m an engineer, you can trust me on this.
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:39:37 PM EDT
[#2]
Something may be loose or bad, or both.

Either tends to make the special smoke come out.

Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:40:31 PM EDT
[#3]
+1 for angry bees
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:41:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Angry pixies about to find a way to let the magic smoke out. Call an electrician
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:42:01 PM EDT
[#5]
A circuit breaker is getting ready to fail?
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:42:04 PM EDT
[#6]
It's the ruby rod inside, getting annoyed.

Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:42:36 PM EDT
[#7]
Definitely investigate. Buzzing= loose connection=heat=fire.
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:42:42 PM EDT
[#8]
Hit it with a stick that’s what I do.
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:43:36 PM EDT
[#9]
Breaker could be going bad, probably just need a replacement.

And the thing about bees is bullshit, I know SquareD uses attack drones instead of bees. Although they used to use bees.
Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:45:28 PM EDT
[#10]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Might need to check the age of the bees that are stored in the breaker. As breakers age, the bees get a little cantankerous and warn people to get off their lawn.

ETA: I’m an engineer, you can trust me on this.
View Quote

Link Posted: 9/28/2022 12:46:35 PM EDT
[#11]
Quoted: