Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/24/2023 11:59:03 AM EDT
[Last Edit: NesralG]
I need a new pair of binos. I have limited real time experience with quality offerings. I used a pair of Steiner Predators on an Ozark Mountains hunt and imo they satisfied my true needs.

My main objective is glassing whitetails at dusk in a variety of Midwestern terrain. Most of my glassing will be done from a static position i.e. sitting on a tailgate or an atv but I also am interested in something that's not too cumbersome to put in a harness and still shoot a bow.

I think I want something in the 8x42 category. Low light performance clarity are my top priorities.

$1k is my absolute top end of the budget. For the sake of price/value comparisons I can get a pair of Vortex Vipers for $380 and the Razor HD 8x42 for $760 with the veterans discount.

What are your experiences/recommendations?
Link Posted: 7/24/2023 12:18:06 PM EDT
[#1]
Take a look at Meopta's offering

Link Posted: 7/24/2023 1:00:09 PM EDT
[#2]
Any reason you only want to go 8X? I usually go at least 10x. Some really good glass can be had for 1K. I have Leupold, Vortex and Steiner.
Link Posted: 7/24/2023 1:06:42 PM EDT
[Last Edit: NesralG] [#3]
I’m not sure I need 10x. My understanding is that exit pupil on a 8x42 allows for more light transmission than 10x42. Again, given my limited experience higher quality glass may make that null?

That, and most of my glassing will be within 200-600 yards.
Link Posted: 7/24/2023 1:09:43 PM EDT
[Last Edit: NotIssued] [#4]
I'm not a fan of vortex, as a rule.  Steiner or Nikkon.  Auto-focus is awesome.

Edit: Zeiss and Leupold are solid as well.
Link Posted: 7/24/2023 1:53:52 PM EDT
[#5]
Steiner Conquest HD and then Meopta Meostar in that price range, in that order.
Link Posted: 7/24/2023 2:04:20 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Oldgold] [#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By NesralG: