Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/13/2024 10:13:08 PM EDT
A friend of mine was asking me a question about cold bore accuracy on his AR-10.

He explained that consistently his first two rounds are low right or right depending on the temperature. He explained that with his rifle the hotter it got the more consistent it grouped.

He asked me what my thoughts are but I am by no means an expert. Maybe you guys can give me some ideas to throw his way or maybe this is normal. He is a SWAT sniper but up until recently only shot a bolt gun for precision.

Below is the rifle in question.

Aero M5E1 308.  18" barrel suppressed. 1:10 twist.

Bullet: federal 168 gold medal match. 2555 FPS at the muzzle.

Link Posted: 6/13/2024 10:46:03 PM EDT
[Last Edit: AeroE] [#1]
Link Posted: 6/14/2024 12:39:02 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 6/14/2024 12:53:37 AM EDT
[#3]
In my experience this is normal for CHF and button rifled barrels. They retain internal stresses from the manufacturing process. As a result they change shape (beyond normal thermal expansion) when going from cold to hot.

Single-point cut rifled barrels can avoid this altogether because the blank is normalized to relieve stresses before the rifling is cut, and cutting doesn’t introduce stress like hammer forging or swaging a button does.

Also, Criterion barrels do well. They are button rifled, but normalized afterwards to relieve internal stresses introduced by the rifling process.

I have 2 cut rifled barrels and a Criterion barrel, and they have no shift in POI from cold to hot, but all my other barrels do to some extent.
Link Posted: 6/16/2024 5:23:51 PM EDT
[#4]