Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/7/2024 2:09:35 PM EDT
I am about to put together a precision 16"upper which barrel would you chose and why. Both steel barrels.

Thanks
Link Posted: 6/7/2024 2:36:02 PM EDT
[Last Edit: mudholestomper] [#1]
Maybe I’m a noob, but I have a hard time paying $600-$800 for those barrels when a match grade barrel from Faxon, SOLGW, Odin Works, Criterion, BCM, etc are available for $300-$350.

Most have a one or sub moa guarantee and some come with an adjustable gas block and tube.
Link Posted: 6/7/2024 3:10:28 PM EDT
[#2]
White Oak is $300, have seen Proof on sale for less than retail. Not interested in BA/Aero, Faxon. Have no experience with SOLG or Odin. Criterion is in the same price range as White Oak. Not interested in sub moa guarantees. I want a barrel from a proven supplier of accurate barrels.
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 12:33:53 AM EDT
[Last Edit: x248716x] [#3]
if it's 5.56 or .223, I'd go with White Oak.  That seems to be their specialty.

if it's any other caliber, perhaps Proof?
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 1:45:05 AM EDT
[#4]
I have several of each mentioned. WOA, PROOF, SOLGW and an ODIN.
I haven't got many rounds through the Odin yet but the WOA barrels that I have are second to none.  They will run with my Proofs all day.
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 1:59:57 AM EDT
[#5]
I’ll probably do white oak next time.
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 2:44:28 AM EDT
[#6]
I would choose White Oak because of all the people I know and have talked to that have their barrels. I hear good things about Proof in general but White Oak AR barrels are a known quality.
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 9:25:13 AM EDT
[#7]
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 10:05:45 AM EDT
[#8]
Either will likely do you well but White Oak would be my choice.  They make a hell of a barrel.  My DMR barrel is fantastic.
Link Posted: 6/8/2024 9:03:53 PM EDT
[#9]