Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/12/2024 2:05:07 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Cwc]
Looking to get into longer range shooting 800-1000 yards and I want a gas gun, looking to buy a seekins sp10 in 6.5. Are there better options than that in the 2500.00 range?
Link Posted: 9/12/2024 2:23:17 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 9/12/2024 2:34:38 PM EDT
[#2]
I agree (not that I'm an expert).  If you're looking at Seekins, go for it
Link Posted: 9/12/2024 2:54:52 PM EDT
[#3]
A Seekins or a used LaRue, if you can find one. Both great guns.
Link Posted: 9/12/2024 7:44:38 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By SpeyRod:
A Seekins or a used LaRue, if you can find one. Both great guns.
View Quote

My old LW barreled OBR is an absolute shooter.
Link Posted: 9/13/2024 3:12:50 PM EDT
[#5]
Originally Posted By doty_soty:

My old LW barreled OBR is an absolute shooter.
View Quote

My 18” 6.5 UU has shot many sub 1/2” groups. A thousand yards was easy with it.
Link Posted: 9/13/2024 5:42:19 PM EDT
[#6]
6ARC > 6.5CM

Small frame that’s lighter, easier to shoot accurately, less recoil, cheaper ammo, cheaper to reload. There’s no reason to get a 6.5CM over one for your uses, only disadvantages to it.

You can buy off the shelf Hornady match ammo and it’s dead nuts consistent to 1200 yards out of an 18” gas gun. The Seekins DMR’s in 6ARC is awesome too.
Link Posted: 9/14/2024 9:39:50 AM EDT
[#7]
Link Posted: 9/14/2024 9:55:52 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Millennial] [#8]
Build.

A) Buy a quality BCG.  

B) Send the BCG to a quality barrel maker and have them make a barrel headspaced to YOUR bolt with gas port placement and size suited to your final caliber and muzzle device configuration… Bartlein, Lilja, Craddock, McGowan, Kreiger, Hart, Christiansen, etc. (I went with Craddock/Bartlein on mine and they even nitrided it.)

C) Buy a quality trigger like a hiperfire hipertouch reflex or better.