Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 11/9/2010 1:46:29 PM EDT
Update bottom of of page oneChristmas is coming, this makes a pretty cheap gift for outdoors lovers.

A few things:
- Sorry about the poor lighting and camera quality, but I'm a broke college student.  Some of these pictures are cell phone pictures, some are real pictures.
- This may not be the easiest, strongest, prettiest way to make the hammock, but it's my way.
- I weigh 235 lbs, and this hammock holds my weight at a pretty good bounce (I’m estimating about 350 lbs. capacity, conservatively).

Step One: Knowledge

This hammock utilizes the most basic of knots to create the final product.  There are only 5 knots you need to know:

1.Whipping
a.This is less of a knot than a preliminary technique that everyone dealing with cordage should know.  This not only prevents the fraying of both natural and synthetic cordage, but also secures lines together.
i.www.ropeworks.biz/reader/whipping.pdf
ii.Method 2
2.The cow hitch:
a.The cow hitch passes the two working ends inside a loop created on the opposing side of a standing bar
b.
3.The Bowline:
a.The Bowline is one of the best knots to learn; used to tie a length of cordage to a post, it doesn’t slip and is THE securing knot taught in the Scouts.  It will hold weight; it’s not pretty, but it does the job.
b.
4.The Overhand knot:
a.Seriously, if you can tie your shoes you know this one, you just may not know the name.  Here ya go:
i.
5.The Simple Noose:
a.If you’ve ever done any sort of knotwork, you’ve probably tied this on accident.  If you’ve ever fooled around with a piece of cordage, same deal.  While simple, it takes some practice.  Here’s some instruction:
i.
ii.In our hammock, instead of tying around a pole, we’ll be tying around a thicker rope.

Step Two: Materials