Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/22/2013 4:28:10 PM EDT
I was wondering if anyone has had problems getting Magpul  XTM enhanced rail covers to snap tight on a Troy enhanced drop in  battle rail?  I am very new to the AR-15 world so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
Link Posted: 9/22/2013 5:37:42 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome.

I actually have had those on the very rail you mention.  They clip in nice and solid

Link Posted: 9/24/2013 7:29:55 AM EDT
[#2]
Thank you,  I am either doing something wrong or I received a china knock off.  Mine don't even snap tight when they aren't on a rail.
Link Posted: 9/24/2013 10:26:34 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Thank you,  I am either doing something wrong or I received a china knock off.  Mine don't even snap tight when they aren't on a rail.
View Quote

Have you tried another rail?  Anything attached to the rail near where you are having trouble attaching the covers?
Link Posted: 9/24/2013 10:51:18 AM EDT
[#4]
That's kind of odd.  I had to snap mine on and off a few times (sanding in some places) to get them a little more loose.

There seems to be quite a bit of dimensional variance when they're molded.  

Link Posted: 9/24/2013 11:12:57 AM EDT
[#5]
Didn't Troy recently change the dimensions of its rails?

I seem to recall reports of sights being canted, etc.  This might account for loose XTM panels
Link Posted: 9/24/2013 1:39:36 PM EDT
[#6]
It's not that they are loose they just don't snap and fall off.  They won't even snap together off of the rail in your hand.
Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!