Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/9/2014 1:01:10 AM EDT
Long day at the range! This was my first time shooting a rifle, whether AR15 or otherwise. I have a few years of experience shooting handguns. I thought it was time I try an AR out. The 25-yard range I was planning on going to makes you buy their "special" ammunition. I buy ammo in bulk so I can avoid paying inflated prices at the range. So I wound up making the 2-hour hike out to an outdoor range that goes out to 50/100 yards and shot my very first AR (first rifle period, for that matter) at the 50-yard line.

Here's the rifle: Noveske 16" Gen III.

Ammo was Federal/Lake City XM193, 55gr.

Without worrying about trying to zero the iron sights, I decided to just see what would happen. Here's my very first 10 rounds ever.

Link Posted: 11/9/2014 1:01:40 AM EDT
[#1]
I then put up one of the 50-yard zero targets. Looks like a similar group.

Adjusted the sights a little bit. I could adjust windage on the rear sight, no problem. But the front sight proved very difficult to adjust. I couldn't get a bullet tip or anything down into it to turn it. So I couldn't adjust elevation. I wound up having to just do "hold unders" all day. I will have to buy one of those tools to adjust the front elevation.

Groups:

Last group of the day. I think I was getting tired at this point. Group opened up a lot.

Here's what the cardboard looked like by the end of the day. I think I shot about 150-200 rounds.

Link Posted: 11/9/2014 1:02:10 AM EDT
[#2]