Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/18/2012 3:30:30 PM EDT
AAR Costa Ludas Pistol Employment
02 05/31/12-06/2/12 Portland Oregon
I've known Chris Costa for a few years now and this isn't my first class with him.  So far it's been one of the best classes I've attended.  Both for fun and atmosphere but also for the types of things I learned that I just don't see other people doing.

My background: I started shooting in 2003.  In 2004 I joined the USMC and spent 4 years in the infantry as an 0311. I did two deployments in Iraq and one MEU.  I Started working at Gun Gallery in 2008 and since then have taken several classes to include Magpul Dynamics, EAG Tactical, Telluric Group, and Reston Group.

Day 1:  We started off with intro's and, of course, discussions of safety.  Then we went over the fundamentals of Marksmanship.  Of course these were gone over in detail especially the importance of grip and trigger control.  Costa has changed his stance a bit from a few years ago and is a little less squared off than he used to be with his legs.  However the upper torso still remains squared for an Isosceles style grip.  If you haven't been to a class like this the hand placement can be a bit strange for some folks rotating their left wrist forward and using a high thumbs forward grip. But is so far the best grip I've used to help mitigate recoil.  I've seen so many people that get a pistol almost 90 degrees up when shooting because they aren't holding the gun properly.  

We Started the drills with a cardboard target with 6 orange dots and 6 blue dots.  When we first started doing the drills I was shooting as fast as I could to still make hits on the dots.  After being told to slow down I realized we were just worrying about the smallest group possible and started to go for that one ragged hole type of group.  We then started doing drills where we switched dots shooting center, left, right in sequence etc.