Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 9/30/2021 6:10:42 AM EDT
I'm an EHS manager.

Months ago, looked into getting more permanent and robust lockout/tagout devices for a large breaker panel. I did the research, found the right devices for each type of breaker (as recommended by the manufacturer of each of the switches), and sent an email to engineering manager for confirmation. Never got a response. Purchasing manager ordered them regardless. Parts came in. I talked to electrical install guy about putting them on. He says "yeah no problem, just email engineering manager because he prioritizes my projects". So I did.

Engineering manager replies "electrical installation guy should decide what devices we need. you're not an electrician." And he added the plant manager and assistant plant manager to the reply.

I replied something along the lines of "I never implied I was. Hence why I emailed you about it months ago."

I'm perturbed. That's all.
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:14:29 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:14:42 AM EDT
[#2]
You gotta add the magic words  "No Response is a Response" to the email.  Then save the email in case you need to remind the asshole in front of others.
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:15:09 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:17:49 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:17:51 AM EDT
[#5]
If that's the worst part of your week or month, then things are probably going pretty well.
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:20:55 AM EDT
[#6]
I should add that this guy is the type who can't collaborate with anyone. What he says goes, and often he screws it up without repercussion.
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:22:12 AM EDT
[#7]
What is an EHS manager?  
Why are you locking out equipment?
Link Posted: 9/30/2021 6:23:46 AM EDT
[#8]