Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 2/17/2014 10:49:36 AM EDT
I applied to a local manufacturing shop for an ad they posted about a trainee, I would love to get into machining but I have no experience in the field. I guess I answered all their questions correctly and today I was told they wanted me to come in for a blueprint and math assessment. This is all new to me, any info on what I should expect for the math and blueprints? What should I wear, my whole family are electricians and they said wearing a suit would be too much for this type of job?

I was very upfront about having no experience but mentioned how I am very eager to learn and everything in this field is completely new to me, I just don't want to walk in lost.
Link Posted: 2/17/2014 11:01:31 AM EDT
[#1]
Little bit of Trig
Calculating Angles
Ability to identify features and dimensions on a print...
Simple stuff really.
Link Posted: 2/17/2014 11:05:31 AM EDT
[#2]
If their math skill assessment tests are anything like the one I use for prospects it will contain basic geometry, some trigonometry, fraction to decimal conversions and metrics. Blueprint reading is different altogether and is not as standardized as it used to be and should be IMHO. If you have had any technical drawing classes you should be able to stumble through a blueprint reading assessment but that does not mean you will be proficient at their particular type of drawings until you become accustomed to their interpretation. My business is a job shop and we get drawings and models in from a lot of different customers and few of them follow the same format; commercial aviation drawing are vastly different from automotive for example. New hires, usually even experienced ones, always need supplemental training on correct drawing interpretation and geometric dimensioning.
Link Posted: 2/17/2014 11:05:51 AM EDT
[#3]