BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 4
Posted: 3/13/2022 12:51:03 PM EDT
So ya I get it the javelin can kill a T72

But how about this …

How much is a 40 + year old Cold War  era  Soviet MBT  worth  vs how much do these  Modern Javelin missiles  cost the US Tax payer ??

Plus maybe transport even ?? Follow the Money . Who really wins ?.

Ps Screw Putin .
Link Posted: 3/13/2022 12:55:45 PM EDT
[#1]
How much does it cost Russia to replace those tanks, if they even can? How much is it worth to bleed Russia's military dry and show the world that they're a paper tiger? How much is it worth to show the world that invading neighbors is going to be expensive?

I'm not a strategic expert by any stretch of the imagination, just musing.
Link Posted: 3/13/2022 12:56:07 PM EDT
[#2]
It's going to cost a lot more to replace that 40 year old tank than the $80,000 missile(+ $100k reusable launcher) that took it out.
Link Posted: 3/13/2022 1:01:45 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

But how about this …

How much is a 40 + year old Cold War  era  Soviet MBT  worth  vs how much do these  Modern Javelin missiles  cost the US Tax payer ??

Ps Screw Putin .
View Quote

Who wins? Thales
Link Posted: 3/13/2022 1:02:07 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

But how about this

Ps Screw Putin .
View Quote

We win because we can hand these things over and have someone else project our power for us.
Link Posted: 3/13/2022 1:07:56 PM EDT
[#5]
If you don't kill the 40 year old tank it will certainly go on to kill and destroy.
Link Posted: 3/13/2022 1:09:05 PM EDT
[#6]
In addition to any destruction the tank will cause in the future, there is also the life of the 3-4 man crew plus the expense to train and house them until today is gone down the tubes.

A Javelin is cheap. From what I'm told since I've never operated one, a Javelin is also easy to learn to operate so little training costs.